farkmfk.blogg.se

Syncback alternative for mac
Syncback alternative for mac











syncback alternative for mac syncback alternative for mac

I could go out and buy a new external drive, format it for AFP and have my local backup/copy situation fixed, but I really don't want to buy yet another drive if I don't have to. I'd like the copy operations to occur on schedule and only copy new files. Both processes are fully manual and do full copies of files to either the network drives or the web server. Neither of these processes are what I'd like to do. I can manually copy files from the Mac to my network drive and I'm pretty sure I can FTP the files of interest to my web server (runs Linux). Time Machine is a non-starter as it can't backup to my network drives (no AFP). With this setup, I have 4 good copies of all my important files, with one set off-site in the event my house burns down or all my gear is stolen. If I delete a file locally, it's not deleted on the network or web server.

syncback alternative for mac

Syncback SE doesn't perform a backup (at least the way I run it), it just copies new files to either my network drive or web server. I also have profiles that copy files we're really interested in keeping save to an off-site web server. If one drive dies, I have a complete copy on the other. Profiles copy new files from to a Netgear NSLU2 with two mirrored 1 terabyte drives. I have a moderately complex home network with a robust file backup schema that is driven by Syncback SE profiles.













Syncback alternative for mac